Alcatel Pop 8 Tablet Review

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

TO  RUNNINGEnter to win this Alcatel Pop 8 Tablet at the bottom of the review!

Are you looking for a nice budget tablet that has mobile data? Check out my review of the Alcatel Pop 8 Tablet, that Alcatel gave me to use. Alcatel has been around since 2004. I recently reviewed the Alcatel One Touch Plus X, a decent entry smart phone. The Alcatel Pop 8 Tablet is targeted towards those looking for a budget tablet that still has some decent features.

Here are the Official Specs For the Alcatel Pop 8 Tablet from Alcatel –

Operating System: ANDROID 4.2 Jelly Bean
CPU: QUAD CORE 1.3GHZ, CORTEX A7
System Memory: 1 GB RAM
Storage Capacity: 4 GB ROM
Wi-Fi: 802.11 B/G/N (MIRACAST)
Bluetooth: 4.0
External Interface: MICRO USB, MICRO SD, 3.5 MM AUDIO JACK
Battery: 4100 mAh, up to 8 hours browsing time
Camera: 2.0 Mpxl rear & 0.3 Mpxl front

This tablet is thin and light. The material is a kind of plastic that attracts fingerprints, but you can get cases that will help with this. There are no physical buttons on the front of the device like many android tablets. You use the software buttons that are part of the software. It easy and lightweight enough to carry in one hand.

The right side of the Alcatel Pop 8 has the volume control and the power button. I found these a bit hard to use as they are sort of shallow and towards the back. The left side has the sim card slot and a MicroSD card for expansion. You can’t use the Alcatel Pop 8 to make phone calls even though it has a sim card (beyond perhaps Google Voice/ Hangouts Dialer), but you can use this Sim Card slot for your mobile data plan.  Many other devices at this price point are WIfi only, so this sets the Alatel Pop 8 apart. The storage space is 4GB which works out to roughly 2.4GB out of the box. You will likely need a SD expansion card but it expands to 64GB so you can easily expand at your leisure.image-1

The software installed does not include much bloatware (extra specific company programs) which is nice. So many tablets out there today are full of a bunch of software that you don’t need and take up value space. Nice to see the minimal included here. The typical Google apps and play store are included. Because this is not a higher end tablet,  it can be sluggish at times when loading apps or sliding between browser pages, but nothing that should stop your enjoyment of it. Typing could also experience this sluggish moments, this is not a device for typing out essays.

The 8-inch LCD display is an acceptable display but I found it kind of dim and needed to raise the brightness to max. Because of this the tablet tended to be not that great outside, but the display was clear and had a wide angle viewing range in the house.image-3

The tablet includes a 2 megapixel camera and no flash. Dim or night photos will not be happening.  The Alcatel Pop 8 allows you to take a picture if you need to, but really don’t be that person holding a tablet up to take a photo. Your phone or old school camera is likely better suited. 🙂

The battery lasts 8 hours according to the package, and I was able to get a full day of off and on usage without issue.

All in all, this Alcatel Pop 8 tablet is best suited to those who are looking for a budget device that also allows you to use your mobile data plan. It would be perfect for children to play some games on, a bedtime book reader with a little extra kick or an extra device for the bathroom or TV area.

Available at Telus for $240 outright or $0 on a 2 year term (with a plan of at least $45/month)

Or Enter to win one right here!

 

 

Canada Contests at AllCanadaContests.com
ContestHound

Disclaimer: Alcatel provided me a unit to review. They are also providing the prize fulfillment for this contest. This giveaway is open to readers in Canada only.


  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
88 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Amy Lovell
Amy Lovell
6 years ago

Thanks for this awesome giveaway

robert young
robert young
6 years ago

Nice contest

Kim Milligan
Kim Milligan
6 years ago

Great prize

Lorraine Wiebe
Lorraine Wiebe
6 years ago

Thanks for the chance to win such an awesome prize

ron
ron
6 years ago

my kids would be jealous

Edith Rennes
Edith Rennes
6 years ago

Excellent prize. I would be thrilled to win!!!!

Holly Wright
Holly Wright
6 years ago

thanks for the chance this would be amazing!

Debbie Browne
Debbie Browne
6 years ago

My husband just retired and I want my tablet back, so I would love to win this one.

Chris MacEwen
Chris MacEwen
6 years ago

This is a great prize ! Thanks a lot.

wilson king
wilson king
6 years ago

Great give-away

ivy pluchinsky
ivy pluchinsky
6 years ago

great prize, good luck everyone

Randy Bercier
Randy Bercier
6 years ago

This would be perfect for my daughter!

Margaret Huitema
Margaret Huitema
6 years ago

Would love this!

Brenda Witherspoon-Bedard
Brenda Witherspoon-Bedard
6 years ago

link brought me to old post re:scanner – commented there

kandi h
kandi h
6 years ago

This looks great! I would love to win it…

Linda Little
Linda Little
6 years ago

I want it! Great contest.

Peter Schwarz
Peter Schwarz
6 years ago

I don’t have a tablet because I’m afraid to “take the plunge” and spend a whole lot of money on something I may not like. This would be great to test drive the Android OS and tablet.

louise
louise
6 years ago

Great prize , thank you !!!

Florence Cochrane
Florence Cochrane
6 years ago

Thank you for the hosting the giveaway.

Gene D
Gene D
6 years ago

Thank you for the giveaway – great prize!

Edmond Leung
Edmond Leung
6 years ago

Wow, prize tablet is fab. & splendid. 2 fingers snap. It is tight, fly & off the chain. Thank you for the awesomeness, the contest, and generosity. Pick me, pick me! Dear Santa: I’ve been nice. My X-Mas wish this year is to win this contest. Starving artist here desperately needs the Alcatel to work and eat again. A life changing exp.

kandi h
kandi h
6 years ago

I would love to win this giveaway!

Rebby
Rebby
6 years ago

Thank you for a fabulous giveaway!

Theresa Clarke
Theresa Clarke
6 years ago

Sorry to have missed the scanner giveaway, but thanks for the review – amazing that it will do old slides! Hope to win this instead! 😉

Heidi c.
Heidi c.
6 years ago

This sounds perfect for my mother. Not too complicated, easy to use. Thanks for the chance to win this!

Karrie Cheung
Karrie Cheung
6 years ago

Awesome prize! Fingers crossed!

Kim G
Kim G
6 years ago

I’d love to win this!

Judy Cowan
Judy Cowan
6 years ago

Wow, what an amazing prize. This would definitely come in handy!

Sylvia G
Sylvia G
6 years ago

My son would be thrilled to own this Tablet.

maria
maria
6 years ago

Thanks for the chance. Would be awesome to win!

Domenique Currie
Domenique Currie
6 years ago

What a great prize!

Debbie Browne
Debbie Browne
6 years ago

Thanks for the contest.

Andrea Kovac
Andrea Kovac
6 years ago

This looks like an amazing product!

kandi h
kandi h
6 years ago

Great Prize! I would love to win this.

Robyn Bellefleur
Robyn Bellefleur
6 years ago

I would love to win this! Thanks for the great giveaway.

Julie Bolduc
Julie Bolduc
6 years ago

Thank you for a fabulous giveaway!

kelly young
kelly young
6 years ago

great review thanks for the giveaway

Anandie Aiello
Anandie Aiello
6 years ago

Awsome giveaway! Thank you!

Glogirl
Glogirl
6 years ago

Looks like a great tablet. I don’t have a tablet and would love to own one.

Suzie M
Suzie M
6 years ago

Looks like a nice tablet

Elizabeth Vlug
Elizabeth Vlug
6 years ago

Thanks for your review of the tablet and of course the contest. Would love it for emailing and browsing on Pinterest and Houzz

Andrea Amy
Andrea Amy
6 years ago

Looks awesome, would be perfect for my son. Great review and thanks for the chance.

kandi h
kandi h
6 years ago

Would love to win this!

CL Chin
CL Chin
6 years ago

I would really love to win a new tablet.

Belinda McNabb
Belinda McNabb
6 years ago

thanks for the great contest

kandi h
kandi h
6 years ago

This would be a great win for our summer road trip

Suzie M
Suzie M
6 years ago

This would be great for the kids

Maria Griffin
Maria Griffin
6 years ago

What a great thing to have for upcoming travel to see my granddaughter. She’d have a lot of fun with it I’m sure.

Ronald Gagnon
Ronald Gagnon
6 years ago

Excellent presentation of the phone’s capabilites

Lori Bazan
Lori Bazan
6 years ago

I would love this tablet for keeping organized and checking emails!! Thanks for the chance 🙂

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x